The Basics

Gorgeous views everywhere!

Gorgeous views everywhere!

So first – the basics. More to come beyond this, but a lay of the land is needed.

First up – Cof, short for Cofradia. Home to 30,000 people, I mostly live within about a mile/mile and a half radius of Parque Central (Central Park), which daily rings with sounds of pick-up trucks speeding past, roosters squaking and Prince Royce blasting through store and moto-taxi speakers, while dust kicks up EVERYWHERE. The town only has two paved roads, though it’s building up quickly.

Super important – The School. With a history of 9 years running, 260 students, and a graduating class that gets smarter by the minute, San Jeronimo Bilingual School is where I spend the majority of my day.  It’s one of the two bilingual private schools in town, and offers Pre-K through 9th grade. Staff includes myself, our teachers, our principal Miss Glenda, Administrator Miss Danelia, as well as 5 teachers from Honduras who teach Spanish and Social Studies.

Next up – The teachers. While our in-country director oversees the teachers at our school outside Cofradia, I run with the 18 teachers here in town. A mix of recent college grads, plus a few with a couple years out, we have a mix of personalities from across the U.S., Ireland and Canada.

A few teachers checking out Lake Yojoa. We did get stopped by the police during our 'tour' of the lake. Gotta say, machine guns, here, come by the bundle. Was a bit scary.

A few teachers checking out Lake Yojoa. We did get stopped by the police during our ‘tour’ of the lake. Gotta say, machine guns, here, come by the bundle. Was a bit scary.

We have an insanely smart group of teachers who never stop giving me a run for my money. They constantly keep me on my toes and never cease to impress me.

Last but not least – Fran. Fran is the on-the-ground BECA director, here, in Honduras and my occasional flat-mate. English in every way (including her birthplace, morning tea and love for British humor), Fran is married to a Peruvian and shares my love for wine and popcorn. Fran is hands down out-of-this-world amazing, who I am insanely grateful to know. Always thoughtful, forever patient, with toughness and grit to boot, she and I share the highs and lows together. Some people have issues with their bosses – I couldn’t imagine a better one.

Just for kicks and giggles, below is a pic of my apartment – which, I have to tell you, I was super impressed with (and still am). Those of you who make jokes about me in a hut made of straw and twigs, keep scrolling. I’ve got some pretty nice digs.

Off to a team meeting this evening, and then hoping to make some mulled wine (fingers crossed) to help ring in the holiday season. Lack of snow will not stop the celebrations.

BeFunky_My Apartment

Leave a Reply

