Goosebumps and The Skin of Chicken

First of all, thank you for all the support received since my last post. Our school principal and teacher are both doing well. Though memories of their mom and dad will never die, hopefully they will find comfort to heal their hearts.

Onto lighter news…a story to share.

Running around like a loon, as is my usual state, it was 9:18am this past Wednesday. A morning rain had just fallen, and the kids were antsy, as their usual freedoms on the playground had been restricted due to massive puddles of mud underneath the swing set. One of our fifth graders approached me, his bangs grazing his long eyelashes. Sticking out his pointer finger, he poked my shoulder and, as if he was analyzing my skin, and noted, “Miss Teri, you have the skin of chicken.”  (Yes, please note. The skin of chicken.)

I will be the first to say my skin is not perfect. Far from it! However, despite its imperfections, I also do not consider it chicken skin. It’s not every day I’m told I have the skin of an animal – one which I also on occasion enjoy as my daily lunch. He then proceeded to ask me for an air pump to pump up the basketball in his hands.

I proceeded to explain that if in the future he wishes to ask a person of authority for a favor, it is best to start with a compliment.

Flash forward to the next day. I’m chatting with a friend of mine (Honduran), and she proceeds to ask me a question in Spanish. I’m still battling through the language, and the only words I recognize are ‘the skin of chicken’ (‘el piel de gallina’).

Seriously. What is it with people here and the skin of chicken? I should also mention that at this point, she too was looking quizzically at my shoulder.

I did not fully understand her question, though my friend was desperately trying to help me. The words kept rolling around in my head: skin of chicken. cold. hills. something that is rough. Not smooth. mountains. need a sweater. Ahhh! Ok, only took about 5 minutes, but we figured it out. “Goosebumps!”

Of course! ‘el piel de gallina’ is simply ‘goosebumps,’ but in Spanish. A huge smile crossed my face.

‘The Skin of Chicken’

‘Goose Bumps.’

Hmm. Not that much different after all.  🙂

One thought on “Goosebumps and The Skin of Chicken

Leave a Reply

